Even small, shallow excavation jobs can be a risk if you don’t know where underground lines are buried.
Remember to call 811 for every project!
"Pre-mark" where you plan to dig before making the call to 811.
Pre-marking means to mark out the area on the ground where the work will take place, using white stakes, paint or flags. Note that pre-marking requirements vary slightly from state to state. Download Laws/Rules
When utility company representatives arrive to mark their lines, pre-marking provides visual boundaries to help guide them in placing their marks where you need them, and not where you don’t.
Gather the information we need to process a locate request.
Download our Data Collection Form to help you prepare for the questions we’ll ask.
Call 811 in advance
You will be given a Dig Safe ticket number as proof of notification.
Notify non-member facility owners
Non-member companies are not notified by Dig Safe. See our Laws at a Glance chart to find out what types of utilities companies are required to be members of Dig Safe.
Click here to get a list of existing Dig Safe members, by state.
Wait the required time
After notifying Dig Safe, you must wait 48 hours in Vermont, or 72 hours in Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. (Excluding weekends and legal holidays.)
During this time, utility representatives respond to mark their lines within your pre-marked area. They use this uniform color code system so the type of facility is indentified.
Respect the marks
Remember that pipes, cables, and wires can be buried at any depth, so it can be risky to dig in close proximity of a buried line. This is why the laws of our five New England states observe a Safety Zone (or Tolerance Zone) requirement.
The use of mechanized equipment is prohibited when digging within 18 inches of a buried facility. In this Safety Zone (or Tolerance Zone), you must dig by hand, carefully, to avoid damage.
Maintain the marks
Make sure the utility marks stay intact during your project. If the marks are compromised for any reason, call Dig Safe back at 811.
In Massachusettes, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont, your ticket expires if the excavation has not started before 30 days from the date of issue.
In New Hampshire and Vermont, Dig Safe tickets expire 30 days from the date of issue.
In Maine, tickets expire every 60 days from the date of issue.
In Massachusetts, the work must start within 30 days from the date of issue. Beyond this point, tickets are valid indefinitely, provided that 1) the marks are maintained, and 2) the work is continuous.
In Rhode Island, tickets do not expire, provided that the marks are maintained.
For a more details, see our Laws At A Glance